Today is our stop for Lorna Peel’s blog tour for her book, Only You, and Lorna has written a fantastic post about her writing process! Fellow writers, do you have a similar process? Let us know in the comments and be sure add Only You to your reading lists!

***

lorna-peel

How I Write (Plotting or Not)

When I write the first draft of a novel, I try to write it straight through from start to finish, with no stopping to edit or add or remove scenes. I just want to get the first draft done, editing comes later, but I do try and finish a writing session on a cliff-hanger so it’s easier to pick up from there again.

With some novels I’ve known exactly where it is going from the beginning but with most of them I haven’t had a clue! I’m not entirely sure if this is a good idea but being a pantser does mean that there are no clues along the way as to how things will pan out. I don’t think there is a right way of writing a novel, you just need to work out what is right for you and that particular novel otherwise you’re going to find yourself staring at a blank screen!

I don’t set myself targets of, say, two thousand words a session, as that’s just putting myself under unnecessary pressure but if I do find myself writing to a deadline at some point in the future then I’d have to reconsider. Whether I’d worry more about the word target than the actual writing, though, I don’t know.

When I started writing I wrote in longhand in spiral bound notebooks. This suited me because back then I was just writing for me. It wasn’t until I started out on the road to publication that I started writing on the PC and now the laptop. It also means that I have to type out all the novels I wrote in longhand and, as I’m an atrocious typist, it takes ages and I still have a couple of notebooks I really must get to!

Generally, I write in the evening and late at night. I can do other types of writing during the day – answering e-mails and updating my blog or website – but I need the peace and quiet of late night for writing novels. Whether this will change as I get older, I don’t know, as it works well for me at the moment. But if I wake up in the morning with the imprint of the keyboard down one side of my face and twenty pages of the letter ‘h’ on the screen, then it’s time for a re-think!

***

Lorna Peel lives in County Sligo, Ireland, and when she’s not writing, she researches her family history. She’s had some pretty varied jobs, including Tour Guide, Professional Genealogist, Bookseller, and Census Enumerator, but she thinks she’s going to enjoy being an author best of all.

To find out more about Lorna Peel and her writing, visit the following sites:

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Pinterest | GoodReads 

***
onlyYou200x300-2

Jane Hollinger is single, divorced, and the wrong side of thirty – as she puts it. Her friends are pressuring her to dive back into London’s dating pool, but she’s content with her quiet life as a genealogy teacher.

Robert Armstrong is every woman’s fantasy: handsome, charming, rich and famous. When he asks her to meet him, she convinces herself it’s because he needs her help with a mystery in his family tree. Soon she realizes he’s interested in more than her genealogical expertise. Now the paparazzi want a piece of Jane too.

Can Jane handle living – and loving – in the spotlight? 

