A Terrible Love Banner

Today we are pleased to be a stop on the blog tour for Marata Eros’ A Terrible Love, a darkly sexy new adult novel that was recently picked up by Simon & Schuster. Our stop includes Erika’s review for the book. Be sure to read the entire post for more information  about A Terrible Love and for the chance to win a copy of the book!

***

I have mixed feelings on this book. On one hand, there is so much potential and I was fully enraptured with the storyline. On the other, I felt as if it was a bit forced and rushed. At times things confused me and needed to be followed through. Like Jess never went to her job, and how was she doing in Bio? I mean maybe I’m obsessed with the bio aspect, because it’s sort of my whole life right now. Overall, though, I was really happy I read A Terrible Love. Marata Eros has woven a tale of compelling characters that I wanted more of.

Jess Mackey is in hiding. She doesn’t get to close to people, but she’s breaking all of her carefully placed rules now. She has like four potential guys that she could be happy with. BUT BAM!! The thriller aspect sets in and you don’t know who is the good and bad guy and you’re terrified. I liked the witty girl banter between Jess and her friend Carlie. As a college student it was funny and cool to see Marata Eros get that spot on. Yes we talk about hookups and casually call each other bitches. But with your best friends like Carlie and Jess, you create a family and will do anything for them. Each character in this novel was carefully layered and had effortless backstories. It all fit. I was leery of Devin Castile, but then I had him pegged down after a bit. The hot chemistry between Jess and Devin was enjoyable to read.

At times the sexy scenes felt a bit Fifty Shades-like. But there is appeal for that and some of you may love that. I don’t think I do…. Limited experience here blushes. The relationships were real and not effortless, which I appreciated. I feel like romance novels build up this big instant attraction and happily ever after ending that isn’t real. Relationships are dirty, sloppy and a bit dysfunctional.

Ms. Eros brings a fresh voice to the New Adult scene. I wish that some plot lines were more developed. I definitely could see another hundred pages easily added on. I wanted more complexities and intertwining and moments that utterly break your heart. WRING MY HEART OUT PLEASE! But if you are even slightly thinking about buying this novel you should. It’s definitely a must for readers of this genre. On a side note, I will be keeping an eye on this author. I know there are bigger things to come from her and I CAN’T WAIT! No, seriously. Now go read and we can talk.

***

Hugging couple on black backgroundAbout the book:

Jessica Mackey is living a meticulously fabricated lie of necessity. She’s left the secret tragedy of her past behind along with who she was and is forging ahead with a clean slate. Jess soon discovers that passion can’t be left behind; her own and that of the one man that sees who she really is. Whose presence caresses her soul in a way that may breach the peaceful life Jess has made for herself.

Devin Castile sees a young woman that is the missing puzzle piece to his existence and who is also the victim to a heinous crime. Devin convinces himself that he can remain emotionally distant even while indulging his physical desire for her. When the lies that Jess has made crumble before their attraction and the truth is revealed, one of them might pay with their life… or their very being.

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | GoodReads

GIVEAWAY

US Residents
International

About the author:

Marata Eros is a mixed-genre writer of dark erotica and fantasy with elements of romance and horror. She has completed her first contemporary romance, A TERRIBLE LOVE as her next new release. Marata is a passionate reader who loves interacting with her readers and is more grateful than she can express for their support.

Blog | GoodReads | Twitter | Facebook

 

