Tags

, , , , , ,

succubus-blues

Title: Succubus Blues
Author: Richelle Mead
Publisher: Kensington
Type: Paranormal Romance/Urban Fantasy
Heat Level: 4

Being a fan of Richelle Mead’s ever-so-popular Vampire Academy series, I was anxious to try her adult series and decided on the Georgina Kincaid books after hearing wonderful things about the series from a good friend of mine. So, I ordered all the books and I am so glad I did!

Succubus Blues is a humorous, sultry, and addicting read that I just couldn’t get enough of! Ms. Mead’s writing is rather flawless in this book and each page left me wanting more. The descriptions are subtle, yet effective, and the dialogue is always smooth. Each character adds a little something to the story and Ms. Mead balances both the paranormal and mortal characters with ease and grace.

Georgina is everything a reader could want in a narrator. She’s witty, intelligent, and a little bit broken, just enough to make you root for her. I admire her desire to lead a normal life and to do as little damage as a succubus as possible.

Now, the friend who told me to read this series also mentioned that Seth, Georgina’s favorite author and crush, is one of their favorite male leads. Let me tell you: Seth does not disappoint. He’s charming, awkward, and all around adorable. There’s a quietness to him that will make readers swoon!

The book isn’t just about the romance, though. There’s an intriguing murder plot woven in that not only keeps the story rolling, but also reveals more and more about the paranormal world. With enough action to balance with the romance, there’s a little something for everyone!

Overall, Succubus Blues is a refreshing read, one that will keep readers engaged and desperate for more. I can’t wait to start the next one!

